What do I need ?

davecon

• Members

I am fairly new to keyboards and play guitar in a live band. I want to play Keys on a few tracks during the gigs. I currently have a Korg XD5 . I dont think the piano sounds are great to be honest and Im not mad on some of the other sounds either.

What Synth(s) do I need to buy to get a half decent setup , I dont need to Sample or Burn CD's or anything like that , just play live . Do I need to keep the XD5 and buy a 2nd Keyboard to use in a MIDI configuration . Set one to Piano and the other to effects or what ? What Keyboard would one recommend. ? I dont feel I need state of the art but do need something fairly good ( what about Roland XP30 ) ?

TIA .

• Members

...how much are you willing to spend on an upgrade?

An XP30 would be a step up from your XD5.

Alternatively, you could keep the XD5 and just get a Roland module....an XV2020 or even a JV1010...if you just want 'out of the box' sounds for playing live.

If you wanted to spend more and get a better sound then you could look at a Yamha Motif (or the Motif ES but that's even more expensive).

• Members

Originally posted by davecon

Thanks very much for the reply oddbuds , silly question from me ............can you explain to me what a Module is and how basically it works please.

A MIDI "module" is simply the sounds of a keyboard, but without the keys.

You can use any MIDI keyboard to "trigger" the sounds of any MIDI module - ie, you actually play on the keys of the keyboard, but you hear the sounds of the MIDI module come out of the speakers.