alesis QS 6.2?

• Members

What do you guys think of this? I have a line on a pretty good deal on one. I have a micron now, but i need some "real" instruments too. I can't get a good organ sound out of the micron - not that it was made for that. Also, what about the QS vs the new Juno D? Thanks...

BTW, I'm a guitarist who's doing a lot more with keys, but I can't spend a ton...

• Members

AFAIK the QS6.2 uses the same engine as the 6.1, the only difference is the chassis. The 6.1 is pretty dated by todays standards, and even though I haven't tried the Juno-D, I'd be willing to bet it is a better board. But its all personal preference, so its best to try them both out first.

• Members

Actually theres 2 sig difs between 6.1 & 6.2. Only one qcard slot on 6.2, was two for the 6.1. But much more it that the output stage of the 6.2 is diff. Resulting inn smoother sound & no more ac hum thru the out cable lines. I;'ve owned both. And the 6.2 owner manual mentions the change to output stage.

The Alesis QS 6.2 is my fave performance rompler. The split & layer ability for programs & performances is vaster then any ther synth I know of. Also a most excellent controller synth via its vast midi ability. Sound wise, has lots of great organs stock that you can mod, mix, layer, & split to your hearts content. Same with the other voice types. Excellent as a bread & butter synth. And imo also very well suited to new age & rompler style electronica. Likes the Eurodance qcard as fave add on qcard. A $100 each the qcards are very low cost for sound xpansion. At $600 for reg street price new. Is lotta synth for the money too imo.

• Members