First keyboard/synth - advice?

• Members

Hello,

I'm not looking for something too expensive (something on the used market).

I want it for pure noise, and mysterious sounds ala Twin Peaks, if you know what I mean. I really dig the keyboarding on SWANS 'soundtracks for the blind', and John Paul Jones on 'Houses of the holy' (No quarter), and 'leaves turn inside' by Unwound - I like alot, so I want it to be versatile too...

I've been thinking of geting a YAMAHA DX-7 - it's in my price range, and from what I've heard at synthmania.com, it has some really cool sounds! (especially the "muted brass" sample and the "Happy '60s electric organ sound").

Or maby Roland D-series?

I have no clue though if these synths really are what I'm looking for, that's why I wanted to ask here first.

I've been playing guitar for 9 years and concider myself a serious musician/composer, so I want something I could enjoy for a pretty long time - something good.

Thanks in advance,

Christoffer

• Members

for weird,strange and darn right frightening sounds, consider the Korg Wavestation EX version. (not standard version) This also has the brass/organ/piano sounds that you may want.

The DX and D series are not really the 1st boards that come to mind as weird sounding, although with a little patience, the DX can generate some disturbing noises.

If you want hands on weirdness :confused: the Oberheim OB-12 is a superb board for realtime parameter changing, but of course it doesnt have the bread and butter sounds, obviously.

:)

• Members

The JD does have bread and butter sounds, like piano, brass etc, but they arnt that great. It really excels at strings, pads, and fx.

It has percussion sounds, but not true drum kits.

Im very pleased with mine, but it wouldnt be my choice for a lone synth.

It moght be worth picking up a small sound module as well, something like a Korg o5r/w or Roland JV1010. They would cover the normal sounds well, leaving the JD for atmos/fx stuff.