DI box, straight, or amp?

gearnut

• Members

So I'm new to actually using synths live, I'm a guitar player. So what's the best way to run it? I'm kinda shying away from amps, just out of the hassle factor of carrying multiple amps. Should i get a DI box then? Or just run straight into the board? thanks!

• Members

You might have to ask the guys over the Live Sound & Production forum about DI boxes, depending on what you get here. Not that many guys on the KSS forum know about live sound, so it's mostly luck if one of us stumbles on the thread while it's still in sight. Hang in there though...

Unfortunately, I actually don't know that much about DI boxes in relation to keyboards. I've never needed one on keys I don't think and I've run a keyboard through a DI box ever. I guess I've been lucky and it's just never been necessary.

Sorry I can't help you more though.

• Members

I, myself prefer to have my amp miked. It largely depends on the house system, monitoring. The main point you'll need to think about is how you can better hear yourself. Synths tend to get lost in the mix very easily. If the house system has good monitoring and monitor placement, then it shouldn't be a problem going DI.

• Members

How many keys/synths are you looking to amplify? What type band/music situation is this (loud rock, soft jazz quartet)? How do you plan to monitor your keys and your mix?

If you are planning on more than one keyboard and are looking for the ultimate in control. I'd go for a small mixer. That will allow you to have a strong signal to your main board. I play on weekends in a loud rock/party cover band. I've built my setup over a year of testing and tweaking different equipment.