New to softsynths, what are you guys using?

• Members

I'm a bit new to softsynths and so I have a question. I'm going to be picking up Reason but I was wondering what you guys like for bread and butter type sounds. I looked at Kontact and it looks pretty cool, what do you guys like? I would like it to be expandable? Would Reason be capable of doing the bread and butter sounds?

Thanks!!!

• Members

Originally posted by chuppleland1

I'm a bit new to softsynths and so I have a question. I'm going to be picking up Reason but I was wondering what you guys like for bread and butter type sounds. I looked at Kontakt and it looks pretty cool, what do you guys like?

You might get lucky with Steinberg's Hypersonic or IK Multimedia's Sampletank.

You know you can't use Reason with Kontakt unless you've got something to ReWire? E.g. another sequencer that accepts Reason's input - Reason doesn't work with VST's, and you'll only be able to combine with ReWire.

I would like it to be expandable? Would Reason be capable of doing the bread and butter sounds?

There's several expansion packs that'll give you orchestral sounds, but for details, Google for Reason Refills. They're for the NN-sampler and they can expand your sonic range - don't ask me about the quality though, I'm not a Reason user.

• Members

I use Reason 3.0, NI FM7, and others.

Reason is perfectly capable of "natural" instruments. I posted some mp3 demos of 3.0 when it came out

http://www.synthmania.com/reason_3_0.htm

pianos are improved from previous versions, and the ROM as a whole was beefed up. The Combinator module allows you to save a patch complete with eq and effects, all in one module.

• Members

keep in mind that there are a lof of really good free softsynths out there.

be sure to check out:

http://www.kvraudio.com/