Finger picking tone question

• Members

I play classical guitar ive got lessons etc. And the last lesson i had i studied a piece of bach, my teacher said that it was technically very good. But my tone and especially right hand work aren't as good. The main problems are that ive got a piece of {censored} guitar, but in like a month or two ill get a new one. And the other problem is that the notes played with my thuhmb are very soft compared to the higher notes, ove only recently started growing nails (io normally bite them of, bad habit) and ive got some pretty good nails on my index middle and ring finger but the nail of my thumb neads some time. But when i play with my thuhmb its in a 'weird' angle, i thought you couldnt use the thumb nail but then my teacher showed me how he did it and he plays more with the tip of his thumb, i play mnore with the side.

Other then that my finger work on my right hand could be a lot better. Who's got some good tips for me?

• Members

A good classical tone requires a good thumbnail. You will see the difference once the nail has grown. These points may help as well. Discuss them with your instructor.

1)-Keep your right wrist elevated from the top of the guitar. Approx. three fingers from the back of your wrist to the soundboard.

2)-Learn to use rest strokes with the thumb whenever possible.

:)

• Members