Structuring a long-term practice regimen?

SHIVmongrel

• Members

I have been playing for about 12 years now, very little training, unformally learned by helpful musicians.

I just finished grad school, now I have time to get back into playing seriously, and I want to do it right.

I've begun this morning, practicing major scales, and plan to practice major scales until i know all keys in all positions, then move on to the relative minor scales.

I found a little book called 'uncle tim's building blocks' which i am using to practice the scales as i learn them

I would be interested in some veteran's takes on how to maximize my gains practicing 1 hour in the morning and then 2 hours each night.

i want to learn guitar, not just a style of music. I want to be able to play for all types of people, not just those interested in a genre

Anyone have any advice, pointers or leads to books or websites that would be helpful to me? Motivation isn't an issue, and I can follow thru with a long-term plan, so I basically just seek advice on how to structure my sessions to reach the goal of becoming a proficient player

• Members

The Frank Gamble video Monster Licks from DCI publishing is a great for learning proper execution of sweeps. The thing is to watch him play over and over... not necessarily do each example over and over... save that for later. Gamble's technique is the best out of all the dudes that sweep. Also there is the Stylus Pick.

• Members

My main problem is probably the muting of the strings. I take my fingers off in time with the pick, but I guess the open strings vibrate a little when I sweep up, and sometimes when I sweep down wich makes it sound really sloppy. (And this is more pronounced with distortion too!)

• Members