Need instructional book and DVD for intermediate guitarist. Suggestions?

• Members

Hey Guys,

I am a self taught intermediate guitarist and am looking to expand my musicality. I would love to take lessons, but I don't have the time or $$$, so I figure an instructional book with DVD would be awesome.

Being self taught, I do not know any music theory. I mean I know major and minor scales, and the names of a few chords, but that is it theory wise. Otherwise I really am just playing by ear. Like I have to look really hard to figure out which note I am playing, and hell, I even forget the concept of the circle of fifths. But my playing and technique are decent just from playing so long, and having a decent ear. I would like to learn modes and beginning jazz guitar a well as all the basics that I fundamentally know and utilize, but maybe haven't learned in a thoery perspective.

So can anybody recommend me a book with DVD (I think the latter really helps me grasp concepts from pages of a book). I want something that will teach me. What I DON'T want is a beginner book, some lame "playing with the pros" where the playing is amazing but you don't learn anything, or something that just teaches you licks and snippets. I WANT something that makes sense for progressing on the continuum of guitar playing.

I think I will get Tomo's book/DVD, but I think I also need to get something to take me step-by-step through music theory. Are those Monster Guitar Method books any good? Thanks for looking and sorry for the long post.

• Members

Originally posted by loosegroove

I think I will get Tomo's book/DVD, but I think I also need to get something to take me step-by-step through music theory. Are those Monster Guitar Method books any good? Thanks for looking and sorry for the long post.

I really like Tomo's DVD.