Boredom is prohibiting progression...

• Members

WARNING: Long post, but I really desire help.

I've been playing for eight years. Very little of this time is serious, but I'm dead serious right now. I've been more involved in other people's music and the business of music, than my own instrument. I talk a big game, but I've decided recently that I really need to get into the thick of things, and I really desire to become a better player.

I went to school for classical guitar and that was great, but I'm not a classical player. I got bored, REAL fast. I got really good, but the disinterest in what I was doing was very prohibitive. I want to get into shredding, metal guitar, blues, and eventually some jazz.

My Practicing

I lasted a year and a half at school and now I'm out here in Seattle, REALLY serious for the first time in my life. I've been practicing for 5-8 hours a day, but I don't feel its very productive. I run through picking exercises OVER and OVER. Toss in arpeggios and some basic sweeps, and thats my entire practice regimen. Excercises.

I've got the Petrucci DVD and Troy Stetina's speed mechanics, but I can't wrap my head around half of the longer (more than 4 bar exercises). Also, my accuracy makes it frustrating to play for long periods of time, because sometimes I simply can't nail the exercise and that makes it difficult.

New Material

I'd like to learn whole songs, but my ability isn't up to par. I pull out Metallica tabs, or SRV tabs, and can do 90% of whats there, but after a certain speed I can't pull it off.

I know a bunch of random bits to songs, and I'd like to learn the whole thing, but I just can't get the lead parts under my fingers. I can wank out pentatonics like no tommorow, but I really want to go way beyond that.

Lessons