Straying from the path

• Members

Found

that describes how I've taught myself to play guitar down to a T!

Like he says 98% of guitarists do this and I can't disagree. I don't play in a band but I've been playing for about 5 or 6 years and haven't really improved too much since the first couple of years I don't think. Maybe I should get some kind of focus or plan.

So who has done better than this, without the aid of a teacher?

• Members

So, what was it again? Learn basic chords, learn barre chords, learn a few simple songs in all keys, sing the root notes to the chord progressions... good stuff!

I read an interview with Herb Ellis where he said something like "When you can sing anything you can read and play anything you sing then you're starting to get there". When all those are locked in, you can sing it, write it, read it and play it, then you have more chops than most guitarists will ever have. in their lives.

• Members

The important thing I've found when you hit a wall in your advancement is to get organized. When you practice, practice with a goal of learning something, not just some new song that's well within your abilities, practice a concept that you are not good at. You must practice your weaknesses or you will advance so slowly that it may actually seem like you're stuck in a rut.

1. Identify an aspect of your playing that you want to improve.
2. Determine what steps you will take to achieve your goal.
3. Schedule time when you will practice it, and actually do it.

If you follow those steps and are not improving, maybe consider taking 1 or 2 lessons from an experienced teacher so he can determine your most detrimental weaknesses and at least get you pointed in the right direction.

Hope this helps!

• Members

I had this conversation with one of my teachers once. I had taken up the guitar again, wanted him to give me some hints on what to do in an open tuning.

- This is great, you're showing me some very basic stuff.