A new relationship between scale patterns

mhoward

• Members

Please take a look at a website I put up: http://gladfish.com/. It describes a property of scale patterns that I noticed, that made it much easier for me to remember them. Maybe this only appeals to me because I'm an engineer - finding patterns in patterns is something I use daily at work.

The relationship between scale patterns, or meta-pattern, consists of a rotation of the scale from string to string, together with a shift of the pattern when it moves from the G to B string. I showed how this works for the major 3-note-per-string scales as well as for the major and minor pentatonic scales.

I've never seen the scales presented in this way before. The concept is very simple, and would be very easy to see if I had taken the time to present it with an animation of the fretboard. But I took the easy way out and drew up a series of diagrams. I'm afraid it may be too geeky for many people; but some people may find that it reduces the amount of memorization required, and it is certainly a different way of looking at the fretboard.

I'd be grateful for feedback.

• Members

This is like Jon Finn's Fretboard Geometry approach.

Wow, you might be right! I was only able to see a few random pages from Amazon, but it sounds like he may talk about this idea, which he's calling "warp refactorization" or something? I guess I was naive to think I'd hit on something nobody else had noticed before. I'll have to get that book and see how he presents it. I'll certainly give him credit for the idea on my website!:thu:

• Members

I must be stupid because that seems a bit much for me. All I did was learn the minor and major scales and then move them up or down corresponding to what mode I want. Since their all the same patterns.

Guess I'll have to take another look when I got more time.

• Members