C flat and other 'non-existent' notes?

AlexMC

• Members

So I know the chromatic scale includes the notes: A -A#-B-C-C#-D-D#-E-F-F#-G-G#

I.e. there's no B#/Cb, or E#/Fb

So when I'm playing, say, the scale of Gb (or Eb minor) on a keyboard, I have:

Gb-Ab-Bb-B-Db-Eb-F-Gb (or Eb-F-Gb-Ab-Bb-B-Db-Eb)

There is no mention of C in this scale, and there are both a Bb and B.

Does the B in this case 'play the role' of a flatted C, even though there is no such note as Cb?

Should this note be written and referred to as B or Cb? And how would this be shown in standard notation? As a C with a flat accidental, or as a B with a natural accidental?

• Members

I guess for a self-taught musician such as myself, there is possible confusion between the notes as written in the chromatic scale (which does not contain any notes *written as* Cb, E# etc, and specific notes found in certain scales or chords.

taking the white B key on a keyboard, for example - I've never heard anyone actually refer to this as the Cb key. It just 'acts as' a Cb in a certain context.

• Members

Also correct me if I'm wrong, but if you write these scales as F# major and I guess D# minor, then don't they work out correctly?

I believe this is the correct F# Major scale...

F# G# A# B C# D# E# F#

Which is the same series of notes as the Gb major scale you listed, except you're back to having one of each letter. :o

Likewise, if you construct the D# natural minor key off this, it works similarly....

D# E# F# G# A# B C# D#

In other words, if you call them F# maj and D# min, then you don't have to have Cb's, or alternatively, you can call the Gb maj and Eb min and have Cb notes, or even more ugly, have the Bb and B be in-key at the same time. It's all semantics, though -- the notes are the same in any event.

• Moderators