Musicality and Musicianship

DCurtis

• Members

so, on the heels of my previous, and similarly titled

thread, here's the question:

What is it to be musical and to use and engage in musicianship?

How do we do this? What does it sound like? How does it change

depending on the musical context?

And not merely our single note improvisations, but as well (and I believe

more importantly) as the rhythm parts we play, and how we support the song

and singer (if there is one). What demands does this make upon how we interact

with the other instruments in the moment?

And very important - How do we practice and develop these skills?

Post links, relate experience, explain how you practice these things, post videos,

whatever it takes to get it across.

• Members

I think of it this way:

-I'm a human being before I'm a musician.

-I'm a musician before I'm a guitarist.

How/what I end up playing is always according to context. Generally my goal is to bring the music to life. I don't care at all if anyone is impressed/not impressed with what I do.

In a perfect world, no-one notices the musician. Only the music.

• Members

I'll answer this part:

"What is it to be musical and to use and engage in musicianship?

How do we do this?"

We make a decision to become active in music, rather than passive.

We have to learn to listen to music in a different way when active.

We must study what has gone before.

We must always play music, and practice dexterity.

We must embrace the concept that a little, in time, is better than a lot, out of time.

We must realize and accept that rhythm is "king".

We must understand that repetition is an important musical element.

We must realize from the outset that the musical journey has no end.

We must avoid becoming sniping egoists who mock the abilities of other musicians.

We must understand that modes are an optional extra :).

• Members

IMO, it's about seeing the bigger picture (or I guess that should be "hearing"...)