VG-99 + budget guitar a good beginner combo?

damondeville

• Members

I am a clueless nerdy beginner choosing his first gear.

I am thinking of getting:

a budget solid body electric guitar (say 200 bucks)

+ a VG-99

+ a GK-3 hexa pickup to hook up the two

and connect the VG-99 to my (Vista) laptop, itself connected to my good stereo speakers (Harmann-Kardon) to produce sound.

I would like to know whether:

1) such setup is possible at all (or are there some tricky connection problems)?

2) it will result in diverse, fun, good enough sounds to a beginner's ear?

My reasoning is:

1) Once connected to the VG-99, the guitar pickups are bypassed and the guitar sound quality comes essentially from the COSM guitar sim + the amp sim + the effects, hence the difference between a low-end and high-end guitar is minimal and not worth the extra-cost

2) Though the VG-99 is pricey, the alternative is buying a decent guitar + a a decent amp + a decent effects box which must end up costing just as much or even more, and then you still can't play classical, 12 string, acoustic or bass guitars nor have fun with synths pads or a MIDI driven software sampler.

3) Practicing with many different sounds might turn significantly less dour and discouraging the initial kiloHours of lonely, noise pollution sounding, endless scale, chord progression and strumming repetitions that a beginner faces before being able to output anything even remotely musical.

Does it make sense?

I am missing something.

Thanks a lot in advance for any feedback or hints.

• Members

If you can afford it it won't hurt to do it that way other than you'll waste hours tweaking the gear instead of developing skills...