What's a good multifx for gigging?

Lanefair

• Members

Originally posted by dot-dot-dot

My VG-88 worked fine for gigging-volume practices and jams.

I'd probably go for a GT-8.

Did you carry a backup plan in case it crapped out on you? Could you use the amp at all (dirt, fx loop) or did you just run it clean?

• Members

I use a Tonelab SE which has effects and amp and speaker sims. Sounds great. The only drawback is there is a limitation to how many effects can be used at once and which ones can be combined. It's a great gigging tool though.

I've heard people speak well of the Boss ME-50 too, though I have no experience myself.

• Members

Originally posted by GCDEF

I use a Tonelab SE which has effects and amp and speaker sims. Sounds great. The only drawback is there is a limitation to how many effects can be used at once and which ones can be combined. It's a great gigging tool though.

I've heard people speak well of the Boss ME-50 too, though I have no experience myself.

I almost tried the ME-50, but I heard there was a delay between patches, and I don't think the banking system could have done what I wanted on stage.

How do you use your amp with a multifx?

• Members

The GT-8 and Tonelab SE are good suggestions. I have a Boss GT-5 and ME-50 and like them a lot. The ME-50 is very straight-forward to use as most parameters are controlled with knobs and not via an LCD screen which suits an idiot like me. There's a cheap ME-50 on eBay right now and includes a FS-5U switch, good price IMO

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=22669&item=7331794600&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

• Members

The ME 50 sounds horrible IMHO. apart from the ME50 guy most players I know either never used multieffects or stopped using them.

A friend of mine has stopped using a GT6 for a board with 4 or 5 stompers on it.