Compressor help and info

turnip

• Members

how importenat/essential is a compressor in a clean guitar sound? I've never used a compressor before in my whole life entire, but often wonder if it would help tighten up my clean sound.

Would one be helpful or essential to a U2/the Police/the Smiths type clean/ish sound? What is a good cheap one?

Should I not worry about it at all?

I really am clueless about this one effect.

:(

• Members

It is useful but not essential. Many of my favorite players play really great clean stuff and don't use compressors. I use a Barber Tone Press. Not sure what you mean when you say "cheap" though. They go for $140 new and $100 used. They are very versatile...you can go from literally no compression to a very big squish. If you want a really compressed sound go for a MXR Dynacomp, used for about $60 and the closest thing you will get to a Ross without spending $300. A lot of people just use them for solos but I leave mine on all the time. I'm going to get another sometime though to kick on for really compressed solos. I find it really cleans up my chords though on very light compression.

• Members

I love mine on chords cause I can play a little harder or softer (due to sloppy playing) and it still sounds the same. I think it makes my chords much cleaner...it's really a "secret weapon" pedal for me.

Most people tend to put it first in the chain (right after the guitar). Unless you have a wah, then that goes first and comp after that. Some people however use it after OD like Trey from Phish...this tends to have a darker sound and increase sustain.

• Members

Barber Tone Press

There is a link to their site in my sig. Honestly my favorite compressor ever and I have owned or played MXR DynaComps (both regular and Super), Keeley, Ross, Boss CS-3, DOD Milkbox, Marshall Compressor, etc. It's the blend knob on the Barber that does it for me.

• Members

i knew the trey heads would be posting in here