Pedals or a multi-effect

SanDiego333

• Members

Ok, so...when I started playing back in the stone ages, options were limited....a wah-wah, a fuzz, then came the revolutionary phase-shifter (yeah, I'm o-l-d).

So, I'm wondering...what are the pros and cons of a multi-effects board like the boss versus individual effects connected together?

• Members

pedals. hands down.

Pedals to me are a lot more personal and reflect your style moreso than a mutlti fx rig. sure, it's nice to only have to run one thing into your amp, but I think that those things really just lack character. Some are great for recording, but I like having each individual effect sitting right in front of me. Plus, sometimes those things, I think, really kill your amp's tone and override it with their own, and some of the effects are a lot better than others. And when I say that, I mean that sometimes the good effects are just mediocre, meaning the rest are crap.

• Members
Originally posted by SanDiego333

Ok, so...when I started playing back in the stone ages, options were limited....a wah-wah, a fuzz, then came the revolutionary phase-shifter (yeah, I'm o-l-d).

So, I'm wondering...what are the pros and cons of a multi-effects board like the boss versus individual effects connected together?

I'm a card carring member of the geezer brigade, but I'm still gigging in a hard rock band.

There are a lot of guy's out there that don't like multi-effects, or don't like digital, or don't like anything that's not true bypass. I'm more pragmatic. The fact is I want to have a lot of effects, I want to pre-progam a lot of different type of delays, and I like to control the parameters with an expression pedal. I find my old (and supposedly obsolete) Boss GT-3 does all that and more. The modulation effects are great, harmonizer, rotary, reverb are all good, even the compressor is usuable.