My foray into the wide world of synths...HELP!!

• Members

Without any intention of making a purchase, I entered a local music shop today here in Toronto (Long-Mcquade), and I see a used, mint Yamaha MO8 on sale for $1100 (that's a little less than $999 USD). I wasn't planning on buying a synth, but after 45 minutes and a little bit of research I was unexpectedly sold. I've got 30 days now...and I don't know what to make of things...

Some background:

- I am a budding pianist and a long-time musician (guitarist, vocalist, bassist, composer, etc.). I had been poking at the idea of owning a synth/digital keyboard for a while, since I need to practise the piano in my bachelor apartment, and for the ability to compose on the wing. I own a Dell laptop with 1gb of Ram, a Core Duo 2ghz processor and no dedicated sound card.

Now I don't have a specific problem or dilemma PER SE, but maybe somebody can make sense of all of the following insecurities and recommend the magical product that will solve them all...if such a one exists...

- First of all, as far as I am concerned, this Yamaha and every other synth I played at the store is not so far beyond my 1989 Roland D5. Digital samples have always sounded totally artificial to me, and with very few exceptions, so does virtually everything on this keyboard (and on the Fantom X8 they had in the store, and on some $8000 Korg they also had). The only truly good samples are a few woodwinds, the cello, and some other stuff. (The rave reviews I read on harmony-central, with people proclaiming that such-and-such a keyboard sounds "just like a Steinway" strike me as delusional. I have heard dozens of keyboards, and none of them sound even remotely close to my Mason-Rische third-tier upright....!!)