Anyone tried a Seymour Duncan distortion pedal?

• Members

Hey guys, i'm new at Harmony Central so hey to everyone

I'm just looking at distortion pedals, and i've had my eye on the ProCo Rat 2 for a while because the demos on YouTube show it has plenty of gain, and can handle the Metallica, Megadeth, Iron Maiden and Bullet For My Valentine stuff i want out of it.

But i also looked at the Seymour Duncan distortion pedals, specifically the Power Grid one. Its supposedly the all out, balls to the walls distortion and the demo i saw showed it could get a decent Metallica sound, even on single coils.

However, there are limited reviews of the Power Grid and i wanted to know if anyone here had any experience of it, or, if anyone has tried the other SD distortions and thought it could handle high gain music.

Any help is much appreciated :wave:

• 2 weeks later...
  • Members

I have the Twin-Tube Classic SFX-03 but it is no longer stock.