Learning to solder...

brandonhackler

• Members

...NO EXPERIENCE. What kind of tools should i pick up? I mean there's the OBVIOUS tools I should pick up but what should I look for? Also going to try to keep the cost low on this little endeavor because it may not stick and I am prone to abandon things Im not good at...like bowling.

Brandon-

• Members

Get some kind of soldering station with alligator clamps that hold things in place. You can't be touching anything you solder to because it gets too hot. So you need something to keep things in place. Radio Shack sells one that's not too expensive that also holds a sponge and your iron.

Do NOT get a Radio Shack iron. Home Depot sells some relatively good irons. You probably don't need something with a variable station, just a solid iron with a good tip interface (The tips should be very long and fit into the shaft of the iron a good way, not just a screw in nub at the end of the iron). Mine is 25 watt and I've never needed more for basic soldering jobs.

A little tin of iron tip cleaner/tinner is very handy.

A jar of flux paste is usually helpful to solder grounds if you ever solder ground to a larger metal surface (like an enclosure).

Obviously solder - not silver solder. I use a lead based solder as it's easier to work with, but it's sometimes tricky to find. You want something that's "flux core" in order to be somewhat easy to work with.

I assume you already have things like needle nose pliers, a few razor blades for stripping wire, wire cutters and something like toothpicks to apply flux.