Fulltone OCD compression?

JilaX^

• Members

I'm a blues guitarist using my Fulltone OCD mainly as a boost pedal, sometimes for the added dirt if a song calls for it.

Mainly using a Fender Blues Jr (as cranked as the situation allows), either with a Fender Classic 50's strat, or an LP Clone. I'm mainly dialling it "Stevie-style" as in, High Level - Low Drive. And, well. I'm just finding my tone a tad too compressed. I quite frankly don't know how to fix it, and was hoping you guys in here might have some tips...

Chain is usually: Guitar > Korg Pitchblack Tuner > Fulltone OCD (> Dunlop JH1 Wah or MXR 6-Band EQ, if I can be arsed bringing them) > Amp.

All help is dearly appreciated!

• Members

Cranking up a low wattage tube amp generally yields some compression, and slamming it with a boost is going to do that some more. I'm not too familiar with the Blues Jr, but could you hook up an extension cabinet to move more air than the stock speaker? That may let you turn it down a bit and ease back the compression. Barring that, a higher powered amp?

• Members

Cranking up a low wattage tube amp generally yields some compression, and slamming it with a boost is going to do that some more. I'm not too familiar with the Blues Jr, but could you hook up an extension cabinet to move more air than the stock speaker? That may let you turn it down a bit and ease back the compression. Barring that, a higher powered amp?

You're probably right about this.

I have seen it done, but not quite sure if it's worth the trouble. (Transport wise)

A new amp is certainly an alternative in the long run, but probably not until the summer. (As a student that's my only real chance to make money.) Moving up to a higher power Fender (Or clone) combo is probably what I'll do.

What about swapping tubes or the speaker? Any hope for improvement?

• Members