Amp with Peavey XXX (heavey) Rhythm and good lead tone(not buzzy)!

Damokles

• Members

Hi everyone

Now that i have a fairly good guitar for the first time since i started playing( an Ibanez prestige 2550) i feel like getting another Amp to reach the tone i want. I'm currently playing a hughes&Kettner tube 100 thorugh a marshall 1936 Cab and use a Hugeh&Kettner Warp factor for distortion.

While the Cleans of that amp are top notch i don't like my distorted tone. At first it doesn't Sound big enough when i crank up. The Rhythm gets too trebly and doesn't have anough focus and Punch o doo heavey Palm muted riffs (that's what i want). I tried eq ing and everything but besides changing the amount of how the amp pierces my ear it doesn't change anything.

A rhythm tone i'd like would be the one of a XXX / 5150 / Dual Recto .

Now for my leads: totally horrible, thin buzzy soudn no sweetness nothing. horrible i think it's just the nature of the Amp. I love to play lead and do it wherever i can without driving my bandmates crazy ;)

So i need a nice lead tone that oozes with saturdation and sustain without sounding buzzy fuzzy.

I've been playing for 4 years, my current Amp is my second amp in general and my first tube amp so i have no clue whether it makes sense to change cabinets, buy a new amp or switch pedals.

I guess a 4x12" Cab would help me to soudn bigger because i allready played through one and it kicked ass but it didn't help me qith my other problems.

So please recomment me a nice amp or pedal while keeping in mind that my budget is somewhere around 1000$ so a XXX would be possible, a recto way out of reach.

thank you and good night!

Damokles

• Members

sounds like the peavey jsx would be right up your alley, it's heavily based on the XXX, but it has an even better clean channel, and it doesn't have the fizziness of the XXX series