What describes John Sykes Whitesnake "87" Tone?

danjovi

• Members

What is an accurate way to describe John Sykes tone on this White Snake Album?

Like some people like to cut mids, crunchy, heavy gain, mild gain, lots of mids/treble, extra bass, no bass, ect...?

I'm not really good with being able to tell what type of sound guitarists have.

So im curious what is the tone John Sykes on this album?

im not good with it so don't slam me

but it sounds like a lot of mids/treble, lots of pre-amp gain, and not much bass?

What is an accurate way to describe his tone here?

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

It helps to have some points of reference. To me, Sykes's 1987 tone is simply the classic Mesa saturated distortion sound. It sounds almost too thick to be the Mk III I know it is; to my ears it's verging on an early Dual Rectifier tone (I can see why Sykes used to use DRs live).

It's a thick, high-preamp-gain, 6L6 Mesa tone.

IIRC, Bob Rock helped Sykes get that tone.

• Members

haha.. well I think it just sounds good over-all.

I know what you mean by people trying to have a buttload more bass these days in guitar though.

But you didn't even leave me your answer of what the sound is ? : (

im sick too...

dont i get some kind of fun? : (

:o

• Members

Originally posted by danjovi

yeah.. it almost sounds like more gain than the MKIII has.

But he used 2 MKIII Colloseums, so maybe that gave him that extra boost of gain?

Thats a hell of a lot of pre-amp tubes and power tubes ; )

was his focus mid/treble?

He layered multiple tracks. You could make any amp sound like it has ungodly amounts of gain by layering multiple tracks.

• Members