Not even one decent grand piano on JV cards ?

gilwe

• Members

I have a JV2080 equipped with 8 different cards (among them the Session, SuperSoundSet, Orchestral I+II, Pianos) but still I can't find even one piano sample which sounds really natural, the sort of what you have today on various VST plugins. Am I missing anything ? It's really a shame as I really like it for other samples, still no "real" acoustic piano :rolleyes:

• Members

Well, isn't the module's technology over ten years old? Does the piano card sound good enough to use in a live situation? I see a lot of love for them over at Vintage Synth Explorer. Have you tried the supernatural piano sounds on the new Roland stage pianos? I am not an expert really, but I think they sound pretty good. There is a new piano card coming out for the RD700GX that was announced at NAMM that is supposed to have another 18 (I think) pianos on it. If that is under 5 or 6 hundred US then I will probably grab it sometime. The funny thing is that for practice I have picked the one of the three built-in supernatural pianos that I like best and just use that all the time when practicing with headphones after my kids go to bed.

There is still nothing like a good old fashioned acoustic, though, even an upright.

• Members

No you are not missing anything. There are no good SRJV acoustic pianos. The best Roland did in this series is the Session Piano.

There was enough RAM in those cards to do a fairly decent piano if they had devoted the whole thing to just one multisampled grand, but for some reason Roland never did that.

• Members

I have a JV2080 equipped with 8 different cards (among them the Session, SuperSoundSet, Orchestral I+II, Pianos) but still I can't find even one piano sample which sounds really natural, the sort of what you have today on various VST plugins. Am I missing anything ? It's really a shame as I really like it for other samples, still no "real" acoustic piano
:rolleyes:

you must be joking