Need to play keyboard notes with my feet!!

redefiningsin

• Members

Hi All,

Hope someone here can help because everywhere Ive pulled a blank on this and can't get deffinate answers.

I am a guitarist and I am looking for a way to incorporate some of the simple string sections of the music I write in to my live performances.

What I need to do is be able to play notes on my keyboard (when on its string setting) using footpedals, I need an octive, 12 seperate pedals I can press to play a note when needed.

I was certain something like this *should* exist, and it *seems* as if products do but I am a keyboard newbie and have already wasted

• Members

There's also the Roland PK-5A which can function as a regular midi bass pedal set. But it obviously can be programmed to play any octave, not just the bass octave.

Also, I think it can also be set up to play sequences, and do midi program chances, and CC changes too. I don't know if it can send multiple midi note messages at a time, but you really should download the whole user manual before you buy it anyway.

HOWEVER, if you need to play chords, you should try a different approach: try programming the chords on your synth. I'm not familiar with your particular keyboard, but one way to do it is with layers. Have each layer be the same program sound, and then transpose each one a minor or major 3rd or whatever.

• Members

The PK-5 should do it for you. You can transpose it accross the whole key range. There are two single note modes: one is note on/off like a regular keyboard, the other holds the note until you hit another one - nice for strings/pads/drones.

You can also have a polyphonic mode which will allow you to hold down more than one note at a time (I can play diads with mine - I've heard that some more "talented" chaps can do full triads...)

There is also a drum mode which lets you assign a note value to each pedal - nice and a mode that allows you to send out CC#'s assigned to each pedal.