Good amp tech in Boston area?

stvgray

• Members

I'm relatively new to the Boston area (Canton, MA), and I need to find a good amp tech to work on several vintage amps.

Can anybody recommend someone in this area who knows what he's doing and does good work?

Steve

• Members

I think the proximity of the tech is only an issue if you plan on hauling the amp there personally and dropping it off. Once you've decided that it's easier to just pull the chassis and mail the guts, it doesn't make a difference if the guy is in an adjacent town or another state (other than a few extra bucks shipping.) You get the added benefit of using a tech based on his reputation and knowledge instead of his convenient location that way too.

Bottom line: Don't rule out shipping your amp's insides to a good tech. It's not that hard.

I really like Paul Rixon (robinamp@comast.net) He does great work.

• Members

A lot of my friends bring their stuff to Aztech electronics in Watertown.

Probably because Allston to Watertown is all of 4 miles. But in all honesty? Friends don't let friends take their stuff to AZ-tech. They're bench rate is really high, AND their work is not so good. I know, I'm a past customer. They messed up quite a number of my amps in the past :cry:

Your mileage may vary though, but for my money, an amp should not break/blow up 1-2 weeks after getting it back from a tech. :idea:

• Members

Probably because Allston to Watertown is all of 4 miles. But in all honesty? Friends don't let friends take their stuff to AZ-tech. They're bench rate is really high, AND their work is not so good. I know, I'm a past customer. They messed up quite a number of my amps in the past
:cry:

Your mileage may vary though, but for my money, an amp should not break/blow up 1-2 weeks after getting it back from a tech.
:idea: