Blue Album: Mark III & JCM 900?

dr_love6977

• Members

I dug out Weezer's blue album because I haven't heard it in a while. On the inside cover it looks like a Mark III and a JCM 900 SLX. Is that right? I was wondering which was which. On the album one amp has a really grindy tone, with a really loose low end. The other has really prominent mids with a tight gain. I have no experience with either amp, so I was wondering if anyone else knew which was which. From my experience having owned both a Boogie and a Marshall (neither of those models tho,) the loose bass on the one guitar is kinda reminiscent of Marshall's loose low end, but more gain than I'm accustomed to from a Marshall. And the low end seems too loose for a Boogie. Any ideas?

• Members

Neither of those amps. It's some mysterious Boogie amp, you actually see it in the booklet if I remember correctly. The SL-X was only used live in between the Blue album and Pinkerton. Pinkerton was recorded with a Marshall 6100, probably the green album too.

• Members

it was all mesa mark I on the blue album as far as i know (not mark III, I'll see if I can find the other pictures of his amp)

i know he had the sl-x during the recording though, so it might have been used, but that equipment history thing on the weezer website said it was just the mesa.

I have an old mark I, and have owned a sl-x...the sl-x wasn't really close to those tones to be honest.

• Members

Well also remember that original Mark I's weren't all alike

Either his was like a custom order or just a different one etc...I can sort of get close to the tone, but it's also how the album was recorded. I read the mics were placed very close to the speakers, and the boogie was set at low volume in order to stop some buzzing noise.

There was something about the mixer as well, but I can't remember.