How accomplished must you be?

phatboy444

• Members

I've been playing guitar for a while (about 13 years now), and I was wondering how accomplished most guitarist who play in bands were (that play originals, not covers). I know it's kind of a vague question, but I'm sort of having trouble deciding whether or not I should leave my playing as a hobby, or go out and try to play music. To give you some idea to my level of playing, I used to play in a cover band and had no trouble tackling solo's (both technically, and in terms of "feel") from bands like Weezer, Cake, and the Pixies, and even most Metallica songs.

• Members

It doesn't depend on how long you have been playing, it depends on your skill. If you know a pretty decent amount of music theory, have a lot of creativity, and have a lot of skill on guitar, then I do suggest that you go ahead and take guitar as a serious profession.

• Members

Originally posted by phatboy444

I've been playing guitar for a while (about 13 years now), and I was wondering how accomplished most guitarist who play in bands were (that play originals, not covers). I know it's kind of a vague question, but I'm sort of having trouble deciding whether or not I should leave my playing as a hobby, or go out and try to play music. To give you some idea to my level of playing, I used to play in a cover band and had no trouble tackling solo's (both technically, and in terms of "feel") from bands like Weezer, Cake, and the Pixies, and even most Metallica songs.

Dude, this looks like a post about fear and confidence. I am not a knowledgable guitarist... but I do know if you have this inclination to be in a true band, the only thing holding you back is "I am not good enough." Well, you ARE. So go make the dreams come true.........:thu:

• Members