Advice requested for creating vocals.

JSmalley12000

• Members

Hello, I have been playing guitar for 8 years but only singing for about 2. Thus, I am way more musically developed than I am vocally, but I am trying to bridge the gap. Currently, I have a lot of songs that I intend to bring to a band which I would like to front, but I am having problems creating even barely-sufficient vocals for these songs.

I would like anyone's advice on creating vocals. I have become a bit more proficient at forming vocal melodies. I can write lyric poetry. I take voice lessons and am learning how to sing better. But I am having problems bringing it all together.

For anyone who has been in, or is currently in this type of situation, I'd love to hear what methods, tricks, advice, stories, lessons learned, and anything else worth sharing on the subject.

I have a MySpace page with my first couple songs. The first two I recorded (I'm far from an audio engineer; please forgive the quality) with vocals; the third track is vocal-less and is one of the ones I'm struggling to put vocals to. The last one I'm not sure if I even want it to have vocals.

http://www.myspace.com/morphinesmile

You'll notice that the third track, for example, has guitars, keys, bass and drums, and sounds as though it's a full band production. In this sense, I feel like there should be a vocal that would fit, I just can't pin it down. I've tried working on it just with the acoustic guitar, but I guess I get frustrated too quickly.

I do catch myself trying to sing Radiohead and other bands that are generally tenor while I am a barritone. And, I wonder all the time if I'm just simply not a singer, though I don't want to throw away 2 years worth of effort just yet.