Check out my music (rock/hard rock)

Jimbo513

• Members

I am almost finished with about 6 demo songs. Check them out and leave feedback on here if you get a chance. Please critique everything from the structure to guitar tone.

The music is a little thrashy and a little sleazy. There are some different sounds in some of them. I sing on one, but my voice sucks so I don't plan on being a singer lol.

Don't be too critical. There are mistakes. There are things I could have done better, but I am no pro and don't know much about recording so these rough demos will have to do.

I still need to do guitar solos for a few of them.

Anyway, here's the link:

http://jimbo513.win.aplus.net/demopage.html

and they are on my MySpace, here:

http://www.myspace.com/jimbo513

• Members

Hey, James

Sounds like you've got some hard rockin' tunes waiting for something to happen in the foreground (like a singer). I listened to Demo 1 and Demo 2. I think I preferred Demo 2; it was a little more varied and sounded a little more distinctive to my jaded ear. I wasn't entirely crazy about the arpeggiated, flanged guitar but I thought the idea was an okay one... but maybe with bass, to give it something kind of bubbling under the surface.

I'm a short song guy, so these songs feel somewhat long to me, but then, without singing or other foreground elements, perhaps that's to be expected.

Sounds like you're headed in the right direction. :)

• Members

Since I don't hear any vocals and it's obvious you know what you're doing, I'll offer some things about the recordings that may help them sound better.

Demo 1...The double kick drum is WAY too prominent in the mix. I can't focus on anything else going on in the song.

Demo 2...Sounds like a good mix. Great guitar work.

Demo 3...Those drums again! Crazy beats...highly inventive...just tooooo loud! And I like my music loud...so that's saying something. And that driving double kick doesn't sound very natural...I'm assuming they are programed.