Triple Rec has arrived

jlc1587

• Members

Well some people wanted to know how it sounded. It sounds pretty awesome. I have only got to play it about 20 minutes. It sounds pretty much exactly like I thought it would but I have heard many before I bought one. It's really tight and saturated which I like but still has that dryness to it. Theres a lot of damn mids.

I still don't prefer it over my 6505. But I can tell it would be sweet on recordings along with the 6505. I would definitely prefer it playing solos over the 6505. It's more of a lead amp to me. The 6505 is a bit more chunky to me.

I was super excited but looks like I'll be playing drums in my band. :facepalm: We couldn't find another drummer after kicking our drummer out so it looks like it's going to be me. I'm a way better drummer than guitar player but I've played drums in bands all my life and was really happy to be able to play guitar especially with all this new gear.

Guess I'll get the sm57 out and make some comparison clips. I heard an FJA modded rec that I liked a lot so that might be something I do.

So far I have not used an OD pedal with it and probably won't. It really doesn't sound like it needs it. It's really got a "dirty" tone to it and I'm afraid od will make it even more so.

Anyway someone post some rec settings so I can try yours out. I'd like to have coheed and cambrias triple rec settings. I don't know when they use theirs because they use marshalls, bogners, and triple rec's. I've already got a pretty cool metal tone dialed in.

• Members

Are you
sure
that you got a Triple Rec?

As in a
Mesa
Triple Rec?

Yep. It get's pretty saturated. But I noticed with my schecter it was much more saturated than my emg's. It sounds tight too. Not to loose. It's really really loud. It seems louder than the 6505 but probably not by much. I like it though I got a good deal on it. It was cheap. I can tell it needs new tubes though.

• Members