EGOCENTRIC songwriters.

Taylor Davis

• Members

this olde son is tryin' to get away from being such an egocentric songwriter.

I studied my own jams (50 plus tunes)and a hail of a lot of those songs are all about me and my feelings.

most folkes don't care about someone elses feelings.

they just cannot relate.

or can they?

have you all noticed that your songs are in the I, I, I, me, me, me, style?

• Members

If you get famous enough, everyone will want to know if the songs are really about you. Don't you really want to know more details about the affair that John Lennon wrote about in Norwegian Wood?

If folks didn't care what other folks' inner lives & feelings, memoirs wouldn't be such a big deal. Confessional poetry etc. Dylan opened the door in pop/rock music and most followed him.

• Members

Yes, of course, it's possible and we've all written non-egocentric tunes.
:idk:

I checked oot a few of your tunes and out of four i looked at two were egocentric.

i liked the cal tune. that was a cool one and what i was talking aboot. it's possible to write a story song and NOT make it about yourself.

thats what I'm working on now. less about myself and more about my fellow man, or woman.

• Members

I checked oot a few of your tunes and out of four i looked at two were egocentric.

i liked the cal tune. that was a cool one and what i was talking aboot. it's possible to write a story song and NOT make it about yourself.

thats what I'm working on now. less about myself and more about my fellow man, or woman.

Thanks for checking out my tunes!

I think I see what you're getting at, but don't you think it's possible to write a tune in first-person ("I") without it being about the songwriter -- and thereby making it non-egocentric?