Need some help in "opening up"

AliveTilDawn

• Members

I'm fairly new to songwriting and my main problem is being able to find my words. There are so many things that I try to write about but i always manage to get stuck with the typical ABA ABBA formats to which i have found to be rather limiting. im not really able to capture the true emotion of the song and the end product sounds too boring. Any tips to help me really SAY something as opposed to rhyming?

• Members

Well, no one says a song has to rhyme at all.

But some of the problems that I see tyro songwriters having with rhyme often involve rhyme schemes where the rhyme words come too close together. A lot of pop songs have 16 beat lines. If you use an AABB (or worse AAAA) rhyme scheme it can feel claustrophobic and forced. (Worse still if the lyric lines are shorter, 8 beat lines.)

Try an ABAB or ABCB (where A and C don't rhyme -- and if you ant to get tricky, you could pick up the A and/or C rhyme in a subsequent verse -- the farther apart the rhyme or the more buried in the structure, the more subtle it will tend to sound.

You can also try partial or glancing rhymes -- with just a hint of the rhyme, say a vowel sound but not the same consonant. Those can be irritating to some folks but if handled right, they give flow and emphasis without seeming even like obvious rhyming. Half/partial rhymes are also effective at times within lyric lines.