Should I take my new m-audio back?

jlc1587

• Members

I got the m-audio USB pre that comes with phantom power. I bought it because my firewire doesn't work with my laptop because it doesn't have firewire. Plus USB works fine for me. I've been using the guitarport for a while but I needed something with mic inputs instead of rigging it like i've been doing.

Anyway, the guy at the store tells me this is better than the guitarport. Everything I looked at and questioned he just kept saying this is the one I want. So I buy it. Only to find out it's only 16 bit and not 24 bit. I'm not a pro so I'm not sure if it really is that important. What do you think?

Also, a question I asked in the recording forum but it's slow over there. Should I use the phantom power on it? It's usb and doesn't plug into a wall. It's made for a laptop. Is USB good enough to give my mic enough power to make it sound right? I hear all phantom power isn't created equal.

I have a phantom power adapter that plugs in the wall. Should I use that and then plug it from the adapter to the m-audio and switch the phantom power to off on the m-audio or keep it on on the m-audio. OR will the m-audio phantom power be good enough?

I know my guitarport would do 24 bit recording so that's what I'd keep it at. With both I record at a good rate with the asio driver. About as low as it will go believe it or not. Or as high if you will.

I really like the way it looks and it's portable and it doesn't need to be plugged into the wall but I'm just wondering if USB really is a good source for phantom power and if I really NEED 24 bit recording.

As I said I'm no pro but I do want it to sound as good as possible. Of course it's not going to sound like a million bucks. From messing with it tonight it sounds really good but I don't know if it might sound better if it was 24 bit.

• Members