Trying to lighten my gear! AC50 head into Orange 1x12? How much will tone suffer?

boostedprozac

• Members

I'm trying to really lighten my gear up. I might buy an orange 1x12 cab with a V30 but how much will my tone suffer with the smaller cab? I don't play big shows.. just a few small local venues and a few clubs here and there. I'm tired of luggind around 4x12's. I may end up with a 2x12 but how will the 1x12 sound? Give me your opinions. Thanks!

• Members

Go 2x12, something about two speakers, especially dissimilar ones, in the same box that adds to the depth of the tone. Also, very few speakers sound great in 1x12 cabs to me, Weber 1230-55, and EV12L among them. Seems speakers that don't lose their lowend and sparkle when cranked fair best.

• Members

I work in clubs with a 1x12 a lot, also a 2x12.

I, as you, have gotten away from larger rigs.

I have been using a Diezel Einstein combo 50 watter for the last 3 years. Sometimes I also bring out a 2x12 Diezel cab with G12-H30's in it to plug in along with the combo. If you are not being mic'd and the club is a larger one, pushing more air makes the amp work easier with less outrageous and focused volume from just a single 12" speaker. A 1x12 in that situation will require louder playing levels and may become overbearing by itself.

The day after Christmas, I received from Diezel, a new 30 watt Schmidt head and a 2x12 cab with Tone Tubby Hempcones in it. While I have not had a chance to try out this new 2x12 with the 30 watt head yet, I did try it out with a Marshall 1912 model, 1x12 closed back, ported, Celestion 150 watt 8 ohm speaker I had. The amp sounded glorious, and was almost an exact fit for the size of the head sitting on top of the cab! It will easily be a great setup in most playing and recording situations.