Old Furniture Donor for Guitar Question

voneville

• Members

I have an antique mahogany headboard from the 50's or 60's for a twin bed that I've been dragging around for about 10 years. I don't think I'll ever use it as a headboard again, so I've been thinking about using it to build a guitar. It's thin though, so I would have to sandwhich it and laminate it (3 ply). Is it worth doing? Will that have an adverse effect on the tonal properties?

• Members

You would be better off buying a body blank if you're going to do your own build

BUT

If this is your first build and you are wanting to get some experience without investing the money, re-using the headboard may not be a bad idea. If this is the case, just try to keep it simple and learn as you go.

• Members

Originally posted by NITEFLY182

I would sell it. A body blank from a supplier should only be about $40-50 bucks

True, but that body blank won't come with the mojo from a headboard that's at least 50 years old. Who knows how many cherries were popped right next to that headboard? :D

And on a more serious note, there's a good chance the headboard could be Honduran mahogany given its age.

• Members

Originally posted by chump5150

True, but that body blank won't come with the mojo from a headboard that's at least 50 years old. Who knows how many cherries were popped right next to that headboard?
:D

And on a more serious note, there's a good chance the headboard could be Honduran mahogany given its age.

The bottom line is that it will be a glued together body made from a bunch of pieces of headboard. Any benefit you could get from it being honduran mahogany will be defeated by all the glue and separate pieces of wood that wont resonate equally.

• Members

Originally posted by NITEFLY182