Guitar tech hunt (UK)

satannica

• Members

What is it you need done?

If it's major work I'd strongly recommend Feline Guitars. Croydon is a bit of a drive to get to but the work they do is well worth the travel.

I just got my Strat back from them after having them take the fretboard radius down to 12", refret with 6000 fretwire, new nut and new locking tuners. Top notch work and great guys.

If it's just a set up or little fiddly things then yeah, Barrie at Giggear.

• Members

I've heard nothing but great things about both Barry Palmer and the guy at Feline Guitars, although I have no experience with either as I do most of my work myself unless its something major.

I've taken 2 guitars into GAK in Brighton before and both times they've come back with a nice new scratch/dent so I wouldn't recommend them...

• Members

The last two times I used giggear, I've not been very impressed. The setup on my V was a bit, well, put it this way, it was better when it went in than when it came out. In fact, I'd swear they put new strings on and sent it right back out. The nut wasn't even trimmed to accommodate the gauge. It was in E standard, I asked for a setup for C standard... I reckon my misses could have done a better job. Buzz buzz buzz.

My strat is a write off after them. Not totally their fault, but its unplayable. It went in for a dented fret. I was told that the fret needed replacing and a fret level was needed... Except now the frets are so astronomically flat, it's difficult to even get a straight G chord out of it. So yea, I'm put off giggear... Not sure if that's Barrie's work or not. But either way, not good. Not sure whether to put money into a refret, or to just part it on eBay as its only a MIM, and get a fancy strat later on.