A few quick questions about acoustics and A/E

broknstuff

• Members

I've been playing guitar for a while but this is my first time shopping for an acoustic. I've searched the forums and have learned a good amount but I still have a few small questions:

1. What's the difference between jumbo, dreadnought, 000 or other guitar body styles? I'm guessing volume/projection as well as what frequencies stand out more (of course wood type also influences) what are your favorite combinations of woods/body styles?

2. About A/E: Can someone clarify balanced/unbalanced signals?

a.) If the guitar has built inpreamp then you can plug it directly into the PA or FOH system?

b.)If it only has a mic then you need an external preamp/DI, like the PADI to be able to plug it into the PA/FOH?

c.) what's the difference between an external preamp and a DI box? any overlap in their functions or are they completely different?

d.) Are the on board preamps usually bypassable, so that you can use an external preamp with it if you like that more, or is it possible (worth it/any improvements in sound) to leave the built in preamp on (maybe on a flat eq) and use an external preamp/DI box?

3. Anything misleading manufacturer catch phrases to watch out for to not get fooled?

4. I really hate the squeek that sometimes occurs when you slide across the fretboard or change chords on acoustics. Besides practicing/changing style so that you lift your hand up more, are there any products out there you'd recommend to resolve this problem? hopefully one that doesn't cause a lot of other problems like build up or deaden the sound.

I realize the second question has a lot of parts and some overlap but I just want to clarify that whole mess in my mind before I can move forward. I'd greatly appreciate your help.

Thanks,

Diego

• Members

To try and answer as much as poss: