Buying a 12 string

mrlucky7

• Members

Hello,

I am looking to buy my first 12 string acoustic guitar. I have been playing for about 20 years for my own pleasure an have a Yamaha FG-335II acoustic that is still going strong. Being left handed, my choices for 12 string guitars is kind of limited. I have been looking at Norman guitars models B18 and B20 and find they have a great sound. The store has 2 B18s and a B20 in stock an even the two B18s dont sound alike.... I guess that is due that they are handmade... Could you help me in choosing ? What should I look for as defects or irregularities on a handmade guitar. Does anyone have a buyers guide ? Thank you for any information you can give me !

• Members

I have the B20-12....it's a wonderful guitar for the price.

make sure it has a nice low easy action.

You should be able to purchase it for a decent price...under $400 US

If you could get the store to order a B50-12 that would be an alternative but

I don't think you could go wrong with the B20.The B18s are being discontinued in the 12 string....

The only guitar that was superior was a Larrivee model costing 3X as much.

If you buy it make sure they have a 48 hour return policy and you could then have it evaluated by a luthier.

good luck!

• Members

I really like martins. i have a dm-12, which is basically a satin 12 string, if you want better quality, you can get a d-28/12 but i really like the dm and it can be had for about 850 new although i hear the taylor 355 is a pretty nice guitar (it plays like an electric as i have heard--thin neck?) for about 1200 i think

• Members

I'd love to have a Taylor 354. A friend of mine has a 354-CE Limited model (I'm not sure which year) that has Maple b/s. Best sounding 12s I've heard, and definitely the easiest playing I've tried. Unfortunately, as Hondro said, their a bit more expensive.

• Members

Thank you for the information given !