Music theory................

spruce goose

• Members

What's the value of learning music theory, IYO?

More specifically, I've been playing for quite a few years (some of the time), but never really learned music theory and such. However, in the last few months I've been working (a bit) on imporving my skillz as a playa. I guess the next logical step would be to learn a bit MT.

To be even more specific:

1. What are the most important aspects of "music theory"?

-- Reading music?

-- Constructing chords?

-- I don't know?

2. How long does it normally take to study these things? Is it easy to learn how to read music, construct chords, and I don't know?

3. What's the best way to study these things?

-- DVDs? (which ones?)

-- Books? (which?)

-- (I doubt very much I'll be taking any private classes)

Appreciate it.

• Members

Music Theory is IMO a broad and over-used term. Basically the point of it all is to analyze what makes up the music after the music has already happened. Knowing what makes music work and being able to quantify it and communicate it with other musicians can make you a better musician in turn. I don't believe that a knowledge of music theory is necessary to be a great musician. But if you're looking for a deeper knowledge of music, it won't hurt.

3. What's the best way to study these things?

-- DVDs? (which ones?)

-- Books? (which?)

-- (I doubt very much I'll be taking any private classes)

I vote books. This is a good book for reading...
http://www.berkleepress.com/catalog/product?product%5fid=11153

... and after you get through that go to this one...
http://www.berkleepress.com/catalog/product?product%5fid=11156

... which is absolutely full of tons of exercises that you just go through without stopping. Get a note wrong, go to the next one. Don't study it too in depth, you're just trying to build up your reading chops.

As for basic music theory, I've heard the "For Dummies" books are organized and awesome: