Silvertone 621 Flat top Bridge

Mr.Soul

• Members

Hey, I need to remove a cracked (destroyed) bridge of an acoustic. I know pretty much how to get it off, but as its something I've never done before, even if I've seen other people do it, I just want some feedback from you guys. Anything I should NOT do or good tips that will make the process easier? Its been screwed in and glued to the top of the guitar. The screws came off beautifully but I'm somewhat wary of the bridge itself. Thanks!

Dave :thu:

• Members

Screws? Before you take the old one off measure accurately the location of the saddle slot - both ends from the nut or the 12th fret. Position the new one based on the slot - they may not be the same size.

Protect the top of the guitar with some sort of heat resistant material - I simply cut out a bridge shaped hole in the middle of a piece of cardboard and wrapped in a couple of layers of aluminum foil. Put that around the bridge and gently apply heat - I use an industrial heat shrink gun with a nozzle that lets me focus the heat right on the bridge. I have two thin putty knives that I start working in from each side - assuming it was glued on with "normal" glues (hide, AR) it should pop off easily. If somebody used something weird (like epoxy, CA, gorilla glue...) you might get a lot of tear out of the spruce.