The mastering process is very important!

• Members

To put the cards straight out, I'm a newbie on recording/mixing/mastering but my learning curve is steep and my ears are sensitive!;) I just realised how extremely important the mastering phase is and how much it can improve the sound of a song! Mastering is equally important as mixing it seems like now that I have experimented and analyzed my results... I just found out that on two speaker systems the sound was about the same, a few differences but nothing much. But on a third system (that I personally think is one of the more clear/fair sounding systems) some background instruments were completely lost. I just couldn't hear the instruments that were very clear sounding in two other speaker systems! So in order to compensate I would have to do something with the amplitude of the tracks so the tracks would be audible on the final song.

What approach should I use? Should I use this "problem speaker system" as the reference for how to get a nice balanced sounding song or should I use all three speaker systems when I balance the mix?

• Members

You should use use all three speaker systems. Try using as many as possible and choose the kind of speakers your audience is likely to have. Studio monitors are great for the initial tracking, but after that you should master with a standard stereo, earbuds/head-phones, computer setup, and a car.

• Members

Originally posted by TonyCrazyMan

To put the cards straight out, I'm a newbie on recording/mixing/mastering but my learning curve is steep and my ears are sensitive!
;)