/I admit it I'm a bad musician, and I'm jealous.

Weldon51

• Members

I play my trade as a writer, and I'm reasonably successful at that- they pay me, and I get published in literary journals, and I have a book published too.

But, I long to be a decent musician.

I used to play a lovely pearwood tenor recorder, and I could play some rondes, and some other hokey tunes.

Then I took up the oboe for four years, and my teacher told me. "Well, at least you're enthusiastic." Fact was, I practised more than anyone else in my class and still came last.

Finally, I opted for electric guitar. "Even rock stars can play that, and look how dumb they are!"

Nope, 11 years later of practice and playing and I can still only recognise 3 intervals by ear (minor 3, 4, 5), and god help me, I can't pick up a chord of more than three notes.

Still, I can play a few jazz melodies, and chord progressions. The Beatle's "Blackbird" and various hack rock pieces. 12 Bar blues. I practise an hour a day. Metallica's "Blackened" minus the solo.

Should I give up?

• Members

I am jealous that at least you have time to practice.

Between work, wife and kid I am lucky if I pick up my guitar for an hour once a week.

So, appreciate what you have and enjoy it! I would be more than happy to have the time to practice once a day.

• Members

Look, I just want to say that this isn't a "poor me" post.

There's a pleasure in music that comes whether or not you're a virtuoso. There's a pleasure in appreciating those who are virtuosos, and there's a little biting bit int he the back of my mind that wishes I was them.

Still, no-one's tried to shut me up yet..

• Members

As a fellow writer, I will give you a nuanced, smarty pants answer.

Do give up. Give up the contest. Your original post is full of comparisons, both actual and implied.