Changing The strings?

burton4snow

• Members

I'm a newbie and I just got a Ephipone SG. I want to know the correct way to change the strings because I don't want to screw it up. Please help.

I would submit a Picture of my new guitar and amp but the picture is too big of a file. So I'm not sure how to stick a picture in. I just took it with my digital camera. Oh Well

• Members

there's no real right way...many many people do it differently. just make sure you don't go cutting off the strings with full tension!

here's how i do mine:

loosen 1 string at a time from the pegheads, then when they're nice and loose i snip the string at the peghead, then run it through the bridge (i snip the string so that i don't have some nasty edge that i can accidentally drag across the body of the guitar and make a nice gash). I do this to all 6 strings, so that when I'm done I don't have any strings left on the guitar at all.

Then i start with the low E string, put the string in position through the bridge, then slide the top end through the hole in the peghead and hold it there between my thumb and first finger of my left hand. I then take my right hand and at the 5th fret I hold the string to my palm with my middle finger, and put my pointer finger totally straightened out perpendicular to the fretboard (so basically i'm making slack in the string). I then bend the end of the string where my left fingers are now as my reference point for where to start the string winding. I find this method works exceptionally well for giving me just the right amount of string to wind.

I then start tuning that string up to pitch, cut off the excess string at the peg head, and continue on with the next string (so the A string). I then tune the next string (in this case the A string) to the E string. You will find that after you're all done your tuning will be low, but it will ensure that you're not tuning the strings too sharply.