****Need Advice on new pickups for my LP 100!!!!

delayed delay

• Members

Hello all! I'm a newbie to the site and I need some advice....

I've got an Epiphone LP 100 with some half-decent pickups in it. I've got about 175-180 bucks to spend on new pickups. The pickups I have right now are the stock pickups and they sound great in the low-mid to high-mid range but the highs sound too bright and tinny and the distortion is muddy and unattractive. I'm running the axe through several effects pedals (Boss CH-1, Line 6 DL4, Marshall GV-2, Ibanez TS9DX, and Ernie Ball PV 6166, through a Furman SPB-8 pedalboard) and into my amazing Peavey Classic 50 all-tube amp (4 10's). That all-tube amp gives me a stellar clean sound and the chorus sounds great. The TS9DX sounds good, but the GV-2 (my distortion pedal), sounds muddy and unclear when I play rhythm or chords. Solos sound great with the ts9dx and the GV-2 running together, but the 'tinnyness' is still there.

I'm looking into the Gibson Burstbucker Pro Humbuckers, the Gibson Classic '57 Humbuckers, the 496r/500t combo.... maybe some more if ya'll can help me out. I'm looking for something that will still give me that great clean, all-tube tone that I love but also something that will give me a much better crunchy distortion without the muddiness. I play a lot of Christian music-praise and worship, to Christian rock, to 80's rock, to blues, to alt. rock.

So keeping my price range, my pickup preferences, and everything else in mind, what do ya'll recommend I go after? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.... thanks!

• Members