Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is there a benefit to holding the stick differently with the left hand?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there a benefit to holding the stick differently with the left hand?

Hi,

I've been playing drums for about 3 years, and I play with both hands angled downward.  I watch videos of drummers (mainly marching bands) with their left hands holding the stick differently which I don't understand.  What are the benefits to this?

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-<br><br>Here's some cool songs I've been working on! Check em out!<br><br>https://soundcloud.com/aguy3422

That became a convention because in traditional marching the snare drums are slung across one leg. The backwards left hand negotiates the funny angle more comfortably than a symmetrical hands down grip. This "traditional grip" is considered a standard and often taught as "correct" technique. It has some advantages and since kit drumming developed with the majority using this approach, is very well suited to the styles that ensued. That said, there is no right and wrong. Symmetrical "matched grip" has overwhelming musical advantages in it's neutrality. Any hand anywhere on time at the right dynamic. Course I'm biased that way.

Originally posted by Unconfigured Static HTML Widget...
    <div class="signaturecontainer">
    <div class="bbcode_container">
    <div class="bbcode_quote">
    <div class="quote_container">
    <div class="bbcode_quote_container"></div>

Write Something...

Comment

• FitchFY
      FitchFY commented
      Editing a comment
      Basically what he said. "Matched" grip and "traditional" grip, at this point, is purely about visual style.

But it DOES look cool.