Wow I can't believe it

jack daniels

• Members

I recently ordered an ESP Viper 401fm with the 81/85 active EMG's and OMG i cannot play these pups anymore. When i first started playing almost 9 years ago i started on passive emg's, then installed and soldered in the Active pups. Now that i've been playing Strats for the past 2 years i simply cannot use EMG's ever again. I thought i would love the sound again and maybe i could tweak my settings to get some "feel" outta them pups, no luck. It's funny how my playing style evolved from rock/metal to bluesy playing. Emg's are awesome for alot of styles, but i've moved away from them sound wise. :cry:

I'm gonna return this guitar back to Musicians Friend.. I hope they don't kill me with a restock fee lol. I prefer the sound of single coils so much more now then even other Humbuckers like in the Epiphone Les Paul i used to have. What is it about single coil? They just sound more "expressive" is the best way i can describe them.

• Members

I've had EMGs and wasn't happy until getting my RR24M tuned to Eb.

I have a 81 / 85 set in a Jackson Kelly Star KS2 with an SPC boost. Too grainy.

An 81 and an EMG-S in a Charvel Fusion Deluxe wired to 18v - too bright.

The RR24M sounds open, not sterile. I love it, but hate the tone of the other two EMG loaded guitars I have. I'm going to swap the 81 with the 85 in the KS-2 putting the 85 in the bridge and the 81 in the neck.

It's funny how my playing style evolved from rock/metal to bluesy playing.

Have your amps changed since using the EMG's back then?

• Members

You might try the SD Blackouts. They are similar to the EMGs but with more tone and a more organic feel. They make them in single coils now too.

I recently ordered some and am waiting to hear what they will sound like in my guitar.

I am putting the regular blackout humbucker in my bridge and a single coil blackouts in my neck. They say that the single coil blackouts are ideal for blues so you might like those.