Newbie Questions

guitarra

• Members

Hey Guys. I am pretty new to drumming and I had a few questions. Please bear with me.

I just traded in some Bass gear and picked up a drum set on Sunday. I started today, and I didn't do too bad. I actually thought I did pretty good. I'm pretty excited.

I just wanted to know the following (for now, I know I'll probably have more questions later):

1. What is the difference in Drum Sticks?

2. What the difference between drum heads? (that is, your standard head, and a "Resonant Batter")

3. What exactly are drum mufflers for?

Like I said, I'm probably going to have alot more questions, but these are the ones that have come to me today.

Thanks in Advance Guys!!!

• Members

Drums sticks are totally a person feel kind of thing. Their are a lot of variables in drumsticks. Don't let them intimidate you. Go to your local shop and hold as many as you can. For now, all that matters is what's comfortable in your hands. Generally, thicker sticks will give you more volume and weight, while thinner sticks are lighter and easier to control. Longer sticks obviously gives you more reach, but shorter sticks feel quicker. Now there are more elements such as tip shape, and size and length of the taper (the part of the stick where it narrows down, just before the tip), but I'll leave you with this for now.