what are lessons like?

guitar420

• Members

i think i might start taking some lessons because i have the opportunity and it cant hurt to learn from a pro (helped immensly with guitar). so how do drummers teach? do you get to play on a kit during lessons? ive been playing for a year without lessons, what would you expect me to start learning at lessons? i dont want them to tell me exactly how to play because my three favorite drummers are all self taught and kick serious ass. do teachers dislike heavy hitters/bashers?

• Members

They'll go over the basics first. Even if you know them pretty well, it always helps.

Then they'll work on specific things. If it's a good teacher, they'll mix in stuff that they want you to learn in with stuff that you want to learn.

Other than that, I'm not sure. Never did any drum lessons yet. (college next year....)

• Members

Since you're not a small child learning from scratch you're in the drivers seat. Unless you want to learn whatever the teacher can teach you, you can walk in and tell a teacher specifically what you want to learn.

My feeling is that drum teachers will take any student they can get their hands on and if they're capable they'll teach you want you want to learn. They won't turn you away because they only want to teach what they want to teach.

A good teacher can show you something in 5 minutes that can keep you practicing for weeks or months to master on your own.

• Members

Yeah, it depends on your skill level, but when I taught, I would always fall back on the 13 essential rudiments and show how you can apply them to the kit. Also I liked to work from Joe Morello's book Master Studies. Lots of good excercises in there, and Joe's whole idea was to get you to be able to get what was in your head out to your hands and feet. I like that approach: Teach the skills that allow you to play what you hear.

• Members

Originally posted by Chabo