Auditions? What do they entail?

wombar

• Members

Hi All,

I'm looking to finally get drumming for a living having spent the past six months trying to polish up my playing, now I've found an agency that is auditioning for drummers to play on cruise ships.

The funny thing is, they dont require sight reading. I can read fairly well, but not straight off the bat, all they said was as long as you're a fast learner then thats all they want.

What I really want to know from some of you guys who may have been doing this for a while is what sort of things do they ask you to do on these auditions?

I'm guessing that I'll be playing to a click which is no problem, playing along to some music etc. I just want to be prepared so any advice from you guys would be great.

Completely off topic, alot of my friends from Uni will wonder why I bothered, I did a degree in Games Simulation & Virtual Reality. Musics the life for me, I'm happiest when I'm playing music so thats the way I'm going. :D:D

• Members

The agencies I've gone thru usually want a video tape, 8 x 10 glossy and the package (couple pages telling who u are & what you've done). Going out freelance can give you a good chance at meeting other musicians, but get a group together and you sometimes better your chances. (not always, but sometimes)

I've played miami to the caribbean islands, and mainly played calypso, jazz & softer rock. That's what the agency was looking for, so that's what i auditioned with.

My advice is to work on many different styles and reading. They will probably throw a sheet up infront of you. Also get a 'fake book' and learn as much as possible.

Anyone who says playing a ship isn't working for your money is bull{censored}ting. Can't mingle with the guests, have to keep hidden when not playing (but the food is still good).